Getting Your License atdadmin
Maryland’s Graduated Licensing System (GLS) aka The Rookie Driver Program is a program which requires new drivers to gain driving experience under the supervision of an experienced driver. It encourages good driving behavior by imposing restrictions and sanctions throughout the licensing process. The goal is to make sharing the road safer for everyone.
The following are the steps to earning your Maryland drivers license:
Step 1 – Obtain A Learner’s Permit
REQUIREMENTS – You must be a minimum of 15 years and 9 months. Successfully passing a vision screening and a knowledge test are required to obtain a learner’s permit. It is unlawful to drive on Maryland’s roadways or to take behind-the-wheel driver education without a valid driver’s permit.
If you are under 25 years of age, you must hold the learner’s permit for a minimum of 9 months, maintain a conviction-free (not even a PBJ) driving record, and complete a standardized MVA approved driver education course (REGISTER TODAY!) and a practice skills log showing a minimum of 60 (including 10 hours at night) hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving.
If you are at least 25 years old, have a valid learner’s permit, and have no moving violations (including PBJs), you are eligible to take the driving skills test after holding your permit for a minimum of 45 days if you have completed a MVA approved standardized driver education program (REGISTER TODAY!) and a practice skills log showing a minimum of 14 (including 3 hours at night) hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving.
RESTRICTIONS – Learner’s permit holders must be accompanied by a qualified supervising driver (21 years or older with a license for a minimum of 3 years) seated in the passenger seat beside the new driver always. A qualified supervising driver must complete the MVA practice skills log with the learner’s permit holder showing the required hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving.
Step 2 – Provisional License
REQUIREMENTS – You must be at least 16 years and 6 months, and successfully complete the learner’s permit requirements (including no moving violations or PBJs) for the mandated period. And, you must have completed a standardized MVA approved driver education course (REGISTER TODAY!) and a practice skills log showing the required hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving.
You must pass the MVA driving skills test to earn your provisional license. The test will be conducted in your car (or, A&T Driving School students may rent a car from our school). The driving skills test consists of two parts:
On a MVA test course, the examiner will instruct you to perform a two-point turnabout maneuver.
You will drive on the road in regular traffic for 10 to 15 minutes. The examiner will ask you to perform several maneuvers in traffic – e.g. turns and lane changes.
Need extra practice for the driving skills test?
A&T Driving School offers extra driving practice to help you brush up on these maneuvers. Our instructors are very familiar with the MVA test and can show you the best techniques to help you pass! Contact us today to schedule extra driving practice.
RESTRICTIONS – If you are under the age of 21, you may not drive with any measurable alcohol in your system. If you are over 21, compliance with Maryland’s impaired driving laws is mandated.
If you are under 18 years of age with a provisional license, you may not drive with passengers under 18 years old (except immediate family members) without a qualified supervising driver for the first 151 days. Also, you may not drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless a qualified supervising driver is with you and/or you are driving to/you’re your workplace, an official school activity, a structured volunteer program, or a related athletic event or training session. Unless calling ‘911’, you may not use any wireless communication device – including a hands-free device. And, you and your passengers must use safety belts always (applicable at all stages of the GLS).
Any moving violations or PBJs will restart the 18-month provisional license period. The provisional license holder is also subject to other sanctions.
Step 3 – Obtain Your Full Drivers License
After successfully completing all requirements of the provisional license and holding your license for the minimum time (18 months) required, MVA will automatically convert your provisional license to a full driver’s license.